What is ISO Standard ?

"ISO Standard" are Internationally accepted by all experts.

It’s a frame work that describes the best way of doing something.

International Organisation for standardization ( ISO ) was founded to organized and unify the various requirement previously established by national standard organizations. While taking initiatives, the international standard-setting body focused on wide requirements of industries including food safety, environmental management, and manufacturing. ISO continued to create new worldwide property commercial standards, including some that apply to information technology.  

International rules are enabled businesses to provide business partners and customers quality assurance by obtaining ISO certification through accreditation bodies. For example, an IT organization can leverage ISO 2700, consisting of Information security management standards, to ensure data security and client confidence with standardization. 

 Similarly, companies can use the ISO 9000 series, most importantly ISO 9001, to create a quality management system (QMS). The QMS documents the procedures and responsibilities for ensuring quality and establishing control objectives thus allowing businesses to leverage the ISO standards to prove ca continual improvement.

There are many different ISO rules defined. 

Sometimes it's critical to understand which ones are the most suitable for your organizations or business. Some of them are industry-specific, many of the most popular rules are common and can be implemented into any organization no matter which sector it is in. So for your better understanding(  if you are not very familiar with ISO)  we have outlined the ten most popular standards below. Read on to learn about their history, why they require, and their impact on the businesses that employ them.

ISO 9001

By far the most popular family is that of ISO 9000. A family of quality management standards, there are fourteen in total. ISO 9001:2015  is the only one that can be certified to. It was first published in 1987, and has since been updated about every 7 years. The standard described on how to put a Quality Management System (QMS) in place to better prepare your organization to produce quality products and services. It is customer-focused, and places an emphasis on continuous improvement and top management processes that extended throughout the organization.

ISO 14001 

ISO 14000 is a family of standards relating to the environment. It includes multiple standards, similar to ISO 9000. ISO 14001: 2015  is the most popular in the family, and is the only one in which an organization can be certified. It establishes requirements for an Environmental Management System (EMS) and is based on the continuous improvement model PDCA (Plan-Do-Check-Act).

ISO 27000

This rules concerns on information technology, for improving security and protecting company assets. This Started in 2005, the came out with two most popular standards are ISO 27001: 2013  and 27002:2013. 27001 is management-based system, whereas 27002 is a technical document, focused on the individual and putting a code of conduct in place. Organizations can choose either standard; ISO 27001 has over 22,000 certifications worldwide. It is a broad rules, and for this reason, the certification can be customized to fit the needs of the organization, and is not mandatory.

ISO 22000

This rules is defined for  development and implementation of a food safety management system, and can help any organization that involves in the food chain business. With multiple standards including 22001 for food and drink, 22002 for food manufacturing, and more, in this family, is used in a variety of organizations directly or indirectly involved with food. Industries such as restaurants of any kind, companies such as food manufacturers, or even food transportation services such as caterers.
ISO 22000:20025   is one of the more common rules with over 26,000 certifications. 

 ISO 50001

This is the energy rules, one of the newest rules, ISO 50001: 2011. It is yet to become increasingly important. Released in 2011, the standard is destined for companies to put in place an Energy Management System (EMS) dedicated to improving energy usage and efficiency also includes reducing an organization’s energy footprint by reducing greenhouse gas emissions with energy costs.  

ISO/TS 16949

ISO/TS 16949 refers to the automotive industry. TS for Technical Specification. Prior to the standard, suppliers asked by car manufacturers for standardizing to the regulations of each individual country, which often led to suppliers needing multiple certifications for the same vehicle.  According to the British Standards Institution (BSI), in 1999 the ISO /TS 16949 standard was shaped by the International Automotive Task Force (IATF) to help streamline this process.

 ISO 13485

This rules is for medical equipment rules ISO 13485 is a single document. Published in 2003, with one revision published in 2016. It puts a QMS in place for the production of medical equipment, and is very specific to the health industry.
It is a regulated rules, and has over 25,000 certifications. It is frequently implemented with ISO 9000 to show that an organization is qualified to do business with, and the document can be catered to the needs of a specific organization.

 ISO 31000

This was created in 2009 as an attempt to create a generally recognized program to reduce risk, eliminating the need for the many standards in other industries that include risk. It is important for an organization to be able to manage risk effectively. ISO 31000: 2009 puts in place a risk-management system to do just that. The standard allows a company to better identify threats before they occur, and effectively allocate and use resources for risk treatment.

 ISO 26000

This is a new rules, ISO 2600 focuses on social responsibility and was released in 2010.  It helps clarify about social responsibility, and helps organizations put in place the methodology to take effective actions relating to global social responsibility. The certification is used in over 60 countries.

ISO 20121

The newest of rules  ISO 20121 was started in 2012. It is a voluntary event sustainability management system.
These standards are being revised constantly to account for the changes in our environment, technology, social attitude, and legislation.

Read What is ISO Compliance?

Post a Comment